Simple Pizza Dough

Sweet and Simple Pizza Dough

In my house, there is only one food that doesn’t get complaints when it is made for dinner; that food is pizza!  Pizza is one of the first foods I started making from scratch, shortly after I got married.  It is cheap, quick and very tasty!  The first pizza dough recipes I made were in a bread maker.  I didn’t have any sort of mixer like a Bosch or Kitchen Aid, nor did I have any counter space…so I did the best I could with what I had.

Over the years I have made many different recipes and most I found lacked taste, or where just too doughy (mind you this is a personal preference as I like foods with a lot of flavor…the more complex, the more I like it).  A few years ago my sister came to me with her husbands recipe and since then I have been making my own variation of it.  This is the best pizza dough recipe I have made and it is extremely simple to do.  Also it is possible to switch it up any way you like, such as adding herbs or cheese to the crust; it goes well with most pizza sauces too.  I have used the traditional tomato sauce, a white cream and garlic, and even a BBQ based sauce on this crust, and the flavors of the crust and sauce have always complimented each other extremely well!

The recipe I am sharing is different than most pizza dough recipes I have found, mainly due to the generous amounts of sugar being used in it.  The recipe makes a sweet dough that is not very heavy at all, it is very light and fluffy yet firm enough to hold the toppings.  It is great to make if you find yourself trapped for time as the dough works the same if you let it rise or just use it right away without letting it rise at all; I have used it both with and without letting the dough rise and the pizza turns out perfect every time.

Please feel free to share this recipe with your friends and to alter it to meet your needs.  As my favorite chef, Michael Smith, likes to say “A recipe is merely words on paper; a guideline, a starting point from which to improvise.”

Sweet and Simple Pizza Dough (yields one 16″ crust)

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 C melted butter/margarine

Dry Ingredients:

  • 3 C  flour
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1 t salt

Yeast Mix:

  • 1/2 C warm water
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1 T yeast (or one packet)

*NOTE: use the yeast you have on hand.

Other Ingredients:

  • flour for dusting

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400F
  • In a small bowl mix together the yeast mix and set aside in a warm place to allow the yeast to activate
  • In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients
  • Once the wet ingredients are whisked together, add the dry ingredients (do not stir) and make a well in the middle of the flour
  • Pour the yeast mix into the well and stir all ingredients together (I use a fork to start, but a wooden spoon, etc, will work just fine) until the dough starts to form and it is hard to stir
  • Pull out the stirring utensil and continue to mix and kneed the dough by hand until it is a sticky ball.
  • *If you are using a kitchen mixer, add all the ingredients to the mixing bowl as indicated above and use the dough hook attachment to mix/kneed the dough until it is ready to be removed and rolled out
  • Dust a clean surface with flour and roll the ball flat into a circle about 1/2″ thick and place on your pizza pan
  • Prepare the pizza with your choice of sauce and topping and place prepared pizza into the preheated oven
  • Cook the pizza for 15-20 minutes or until the crust has browned and the cheese is bubbly
  • Remove the cooked pizza from the oven and allow it to cool for 5 minutes.  This allows the topping to settle and prevents them from getting pulled around or falling off when the pizza is cut.
  • Once the pizza has cooled cut, serve and enjoy!

NOTE: Not all ovens are the same so temperatures and cook times may vary

2 thoughts on “Sweet and Simple Pizza Dough

Leave a Reply

